Chaminade Cup 2017

Mar 07, 2017 by

On a perfect winter’s day for football the 5th years took on the 6th year students in the annual Chaminade Cup game.

The 5th years started brightly with Sam Catchpole and Zack Quinlivan helping them to dominate territory and possession. They failed to capitalise on this early dominance however and the 6th years used their speed on the counter to register 3 goals in quick succession with Brandon Perry in particular in devastating form for the 6th years.

The 6th years went on to control the rest of the half with the muscular efforts of  Ken Henry in midfield and the rock solid defensive partnership of Craig Larkin and Jake Whelan helping them to a 8-3 half time lead.

The score line could and should have been much closer as the 5th years were left to rue numerous wasted opportunities to reduce the deficit. Kian Wallace was particularly unlucky to see several well taken efforts saved by the ever reliable Jamie Lawlor in the 6th year net.

With confidence sky high the 6th years made a brilliant start to the 2nd half with the hardworking Aaron Hand and the athletic Ben Finn adding a goal each to bring the score line to 10-3.

Only the reflexes of the cat like David Byrne in the 5th year goal as well as some robust defending from the hard men in the 5th year defence, Tom Plaza and Ray Henry prevented a cricket score.

Overconfidence began to temper the 6th year’s work ethic and dominance and finally the 5th years were spurred into making a dramatic comeback. Nathan Martin led the revival with a combination of powerful and skilful runs right through the heart of the 6th year defence that yielded 3 goals in a row for his teammates.

A change in the 6th year formation allowed the silky skills of Luke Kelly to be utilised further up the field and this helped the 6th year to stem the 5th year tide and eventually pull through to win the game 13 – 10.



5th years

Sam Catchpole

Kian Wallace

Nathan Martin

Zack Quinlivan

Tom Plaza

Ray Henry

David Byrne


6th years

1.  Jake Whelan

2.  Brandon Perry

3.  Ken Henry

4.  Ben Finn

6.  Craig Larkin

7.  Aaron Hand

8.  Luke Kelly

9.  Jamie Lawlor




About the author

The author didnt add any Information to his profile yet